背景


政府在2017年10月的《施政报告》公布,经过大规模选址工作后,决定腾出中环新海滨的五号用地和五号用地南面用地(南面用地),供兴建一座高等法院综合大楼,以重置现有的高等法院大楼。现有夏慤道食水抽水站所位处的南面用地,其发展受到极大局限。该地盘的形状十分不规则。南面用地的大范围内穿插着兴建中的港铁沙田至中环线隧道、现有的地下高压电缆,以及连接至邻近配电站的维修/保养通道。由于现有的食水抽水站建筑物位于可建范围的正中央,在开展任何大型建筑发展之前,都有必要先搬迁食水抽水站。另外,食水抽水站须在高等法院综合大楼施工阶段由始至终维持无间断的运作。即使是原址重置仍需在附近兴建临时食水抽水站,然后再搬回该址。此外,高等法院综合大楼须符合严谨和复杂的技术和运作要求。如果要把食水抽水站重置于高等法院综合大楼内,将会占据相当大范围的地面和平台楼层,而这些楼层对高等法院综合大楼的核心设施十分关键。此举将不利高等法院综合大楼的有效布局规划,并会严重窒碍高等法院楼层容纳各法院的长远能力。该做法将为整体发展带来不合比例的局限和负面影响。因此,政府确实有需要将现有的食水抽水站永久搬离南面用地。

有关的食水抽水站是湾仔区和中西区关键而重要的食水供应基建。因应运作需要,食水抽水站的新址须选定于有关区内。在考虑过各种因素和局限后,例如空间是否足够、对交通的影响,以及现有地下设施、铁路和行车隧道的分布等,我们的结论是,将食水抽水站永久搬迁至骆克道游乐场是最可行的方案。

水务署目前的计划是将食水抽水站搬迁至现时骆克道游乐场的部分场地。为了照顾该区居民的康乐需要,水务署现已与康乐及文化事务署着手开展一项融合康乐设施与食水抽水站的综合发展计划。此计划不单可以容纳食水抽水站设施,更可为公众提供一个更佳的游乐场。



选址准则

在选择合适地点以重置夏慤道食水抽水站时,须视乎以下的考虑:

 新的抽水站将接收由九龙供水网络输送过来的食水,因此抽水站的位置不可太高,否则从九龙那边输送过来的食水将没有足够的水压抵达新的抽水站;

 新的抽水站将接驳至现有干管以接收食水及将食水泵送至现有配水库,因此新的抽水站不应离现有干管太远;及

 拟重铺水管接驳至现有干管工程,不会对附近一带的交通造成显著的影响。

基于以上要求,有关部门已就重置地点寻觅不同的选项。最终获选的地方位于骆克道。




亦曾考虑于以下位置重置食水抽水站:

(1) 红十字会总部旧址 ─ 由于附近设有很多电缆、污水及清水排放设施,鉴于上述技术性限制,该位置并没有足够地方容纳食水抽水站;

(2) 夏慤道食水抽水站东边的空地 ─ 由于空地的北面地下有地铁的隧道,加上空地的南面有很多电䌫设施,部门认为于该位置没有足够地方去重置食水抽水站;

(3) 近香港演艺学院西边界的空地 ─ 于该位置部份土地为私人拥有,因此部门没有考虑于该位置重置食水抽水站;

(4) 夏慤公园 ─ 此公园已在港铁金钟站扩建工程中重建,以容纳沙田至中环线及南岛线(东)。重置食水抽水站至该位置并不可行;

(5) 位于香港公园内的公厕位置 ─ 部门考虑到重铺水管会影响公园的运作及正义道及法院道一带的交通,因此该位置并不适合用作重置食水抽水站;

(6) 位于香港公园内的餐厅位置─ 该位置属于香港公园的心脏地带,加上该位置部门考虑到重铺水管会对香港公园的运作造成很大的影响,因此该位置亦不适合用作重置食水抽水站;

(7) 位于中区消防处后方的位置 ─ 虽然于该位置重置抽水站对市民的影响较少,但会对古石墙及百多株树木造成影响;

Background


As announced in the Policy Address of October 2017, the Government has decided after an extensive site search to make available Site 5 of the new Central Harbourfront and the site south of Site 5 (the south site) for the development of a Judicial Complex for the High Court (JCHC) to reprovision the existing High Court Building. The development of the south site, where the existing Harcourt Road fresh water pumping station site is located, is subject to particularly serious constraints. The site is highly irregular in shape. The MTR Shatin-to-Central Link tunnels now under construction, as well as the existing underground high-voltage power cables and service/maintenance access connected to the adjoining power substations, are traversing major parts of the south site area. As the existing fresh water pumping station building is centrally located over the buildable area, the fresh water pumping station has to be relocated before any major building development can proceed. Moreover, uninterrupted operation of the fresh water pumping station must be maintained throughout the construction works of the JCHC. In–situ reprovisioning of the fresh water pumping station will still require to build a temporary fresh water pumping station nearby and relocate it back to this site. Furthermore, the JCHC is subject to very stringent and complex technical and operational requirements. If the fresh water pumping station was to be reprovisioned within the JCHC, it would occupy a substantial area of the ground and podium levels critical for the core facilities of the JCHC. This would be detrimental to the effective layout planning of the JCHC and will seriously restrict the long term accommodation needs of Courts at High Court levels. Such arrangement would also impose disproportioned constraints and adverse impacts on the overall development. The Government therefore see a genuine need to relocate the existing fresh water pumping station from the south site permanently.

The concerned fresh water pumping station is an important and critical infrastructure for supplying fresh water to Wan Chai District and Central and Western District. The new site for the fresh water pumping station has to be located within the area for operational need. After considering various factors and constraints such as sufficiency of space, impact to traffic, distribution of existing underground utilities, railway and road tunnels etc., we concluded that permanent relocation of the fresh water pumping station to Lockhart Road Playground is the best viable option.

The current plan of the Water Supplies Department (WSD) is to relocate the fresh water pumping station to part of the site of the existing Lockhart Road Playground. To address recreational needs of the local residents, WSD has been working with the Leisure and Cultural Services Department to develop an integrated leisure facilities-cum-pumping station development scheme which will not only accommodate the pumping facilities but also provide a revamped playground to better serve the public.

Site Selection Criteria


The choice of a suitable site for the reprovisioning of Harcourt Road fresh water pumping station is subject to the following consideration:

 The new pumping station will receive fresh water transferred from the network on the Kowloon side. Its level should not be too high, otherwise fresh water from the Kowloon side will not have enough water pressure to reach the new pumping station;

 The new pumping station should be connected to the exiting trunk mains in order to receive fresh water and pump water to the existing service reservoirs, thus the new pumping station should not be too far from the existing trunk mains and delivery mains; and

 The proposed mainlaying works for connecting to the existing supply networks will not impose significant impact on the traffic in the vicinity.

Based on the above requirements, the concerned departments have looked for different choices for the relocation sites. The final chosen site is located on Lockhart Road.




The following sites had also been considered for the reprovisioning of fresh water pumping station:

(1) The former site of Hong Kong Red Cross Headquarters – Due to technical constraints arising from the presence of a significant number of cables as well as sewage and storm water disposal facilities in the vicinity, the site could not provide sufficient space for the reprovisioning of the fresh water pumping station;

(2) The open area to the east of Harcourt Road Fresh Water Pumping Station – Since the location was constrained by a MTR tunnel at the northern area of the site and congested underground cables at the southern area of the site. WSD considered that the available space was not large enough to reprovision the fresh water pumping station in the area;

(3) The open area near the western boundary of the Hong Kong Academy for Performing Arts – Since part of the area was privately owned, WSD did not consider the reprovisioning of the fresh water pumping station at the location concerned;

(4) Harcourt Garden – The garden has been rebuilt under the MTR Admiralty Station extension works for accommodating the Shatin-to-Central Link and the South Island Line (East). Reprovisioning of the fresh water pumping station to this location is not feasible;

(5) The public toilet in the Hong Kong Park – In view of the possible impact of the mainlaying works on the operation of the park and the traffic in the vicinity of Justice Drive and Supreme Court Road, WSD considered the location unsuitable for the reprovisioning of the fresh water pumping station;

(6) The restaurant in Hong Kong Park – The location situates at the heart of Hong Kong Park. In view of the significant impact of the mainlaying works on the operation of Hong Kong Park, WSD considered the location unsuitable for the reprovisioning of the fresh water pumping station;

(7) The area behind Central Fire Station – Though reprovisioning of the water pumping station at the location would have relatively small impact to the public, it would affect the old stone wall and over a hundred trees;